If you buy something through a link on this page, we may earn a small commission. How this works.

Peanut butter is a popular ingredient favored for its rich taste, creamy texture, and impressive nutrient profile.

It’s not only a versatile and delicious spread but also works well in smoothies, desserts, and dips.

However, with so many different brands and varieties on the market, you may be unsure whether it can be included as part of a well-rounded vegan diet.

This article discusses whether all peanut butter is vegan.

Most types of peanut butter are made using just a few simple ingredients, including peanuts, oil, and salt.

Some types may also contain other additives and ingredients like molasses, sugar, or agave syrup — all of which are considered vegan.

Therefore, most types of peanut butter are free of animal products and can be enjoyed as part of a vegan diet.

Some examples of peanut butter products that are vegan-friendly include:

  • 365 Everyday Value Creamy Peanut Butter
  • Justin’s Classic Peanut Butter
  • Peanut Butter & Co. Old Fashioned Smooth
  • Spread the Love NAKED Organic Peanut Butter
  • Pic’s Smooth Peanut Butter
  • PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter

These and other vegan peanut butters may be available at your local grocery store, or you can buy them online.

Summary

Most types of peanut butter are considered vegan and made using ingredients like peanuts, oil, and salt.

Though most types of peanut butter are vegan, some may contain animal products, such as honey.

Honey is typically excluded from most vegan diets, as it’s produced by bees and, similarly to eggs and dairy, considered to be an animal product.

Some types of peanut butter are also supplemented with omega-3 fatty acids, which are sourced from fish, such as anchovies or sardines.

Plus, other brands use refined cane sugar, which is sometimes filtered and bleached using bone char.

Though the sugar doesn’t contain animal products, some vegans avoid using products that have been processed using this method.

Furthermore, some types of peanut butter may technically be vegan but are produced in facilities that also process animal products, which can increase the risk of cross-contamination.

While some vegans don’t mind consuming foods that may contain trace amounts of animal products, others may opt to exclude these products from their diet.

Some popular examples of peanut butter that are not considered vegan include:

  • Smucker’s Natural Peanut Butter with Honey
  • Jif Creamy Omega-3 Peanut Butter
  • Peter Pan Crunchy Honey Roast Peanut Spread
  • Skippy Roasted Honey Nut Creamy Peanut Butter
  • Justin’s Honey Peanut Butter
  • Peanut Butter & Co. The Bee’s Knees Peanut Butter
Summary

Some types of peanut butter are made using honey or fish oil, which are not vegan. Some brands may also contain sugar made using bone char or be produced in facilities that process animal products.

The easiest way to determine whether your peanut butter is vegan is to check the ingredient label.

Look for ingredients like honey, fish oil, or gelatin, all of which indicate that it may contain animal products.

Some products are also labeled as certified vegan, which ensures that they do not contain any animal products, have not been tested on animals, and have not been filtered or processed using bone char (1).

Though foods that are certified vegan may be produced in facilities that also process animal products, companies are required to provide documentation to verify that any shared machinery is thoroughly cleaned (1).

If you’re unsure about whether your peanut butter is vegan, you can reach out to the company or manufacturer directly to address any concerns.

Summary

Checking the ingredient label, opting for products that are certified vegan, or contacting the manufacturer directly are some easy ways to determine whether your peanut butter is vegan.

Most types of peanut butter are free of animal products and can be enjoyed as part of a vegan diet.

However, some varieties are made in facilities that also process animal products or contain refined sugar that was produced using bone char or non-vegan ingredients like honey or fish oil.

However, there are several simple strategies that you can use to ensure that your peanut butter is vegan, such as checking the ingredient label or contacting the manufacturer.