Ancient grains like farro are becoming increasingly popular due to their nutrient density and culinary versatility (1).

Farro itself is among the oldest cultivated grains in the world. It has a nutty, rice-like texture and is loaded with fiber and a variety of essential nutrients (2).

Interestingly, the term “farro” encompasses several ancient wheat species, including emmer and einkorn (3).

Most people who follow a gluten-free diet know to avoid foods made from the main gluten-containing grains — wheat, barley, and rye. However, because farro is rarely referred to as a wheat product, you may wonder whether it’s gluten-free.

This article explains whether farro contains gluten and whether it’s safe to eat if you have a gluten allergy or intolerance.

Because farro is a type of wheat, it contains gluten just like any wheat product.

Thus, if you have a medical condition that requires a strict gluten-free diet, such as celiac disease, you shouldn’t eat farro.

Keep in mind that farro encompasses three separate hulled wheat species called einkorn, spelt, and emmer. If you see these products in grocery stores or listed on restaurant menus, remember that they’re not gluten-free (3).

Other wheat-based, gluten-containing grains include durum, triticale, bulgur, freekeh, and kamut. If you follow a strict gluten-free diet, you should avoid all of these.


Farro is a type of wheat and thus contains gluten. If you’re following a strict gluten-free diet, you should avoid it.

Although it’s a related species, farro has a different gluten structure than common wheat, which may make it more tolerable for those with a gluten intolerance (3).

As such, some people with gluten intolerance may be able to eat small amounts of farro without experiencing the negative symptoms that they typically have with other types of wheat. Nevertheless, individual tolerance among those with gluten intolerance varies greatly.

If you have celiac disease you should avoid all sources of gluten, including farro, but milder conditions like non-celiac gluten sensitivity don’t always require complete avoidance of gluten. Rather, they may be effectively managed with a low or reduced gluten diet.

That said, the exact amount of gluten you can tolerate largely depends on the severity of your sensitivity (4).

If you have a form of gluten intolerance and are unsure whether farro is a safe choice, consult your healthcare provider before adding it to your diet.


Farro has a different gluten structure than common wheat, so some people with gluten sensitivity can tolerate it without experiencing negative symptoms.

Farro is a nutritious, popular ancient grain. Yet, because it’s a form of wheat, it contains gluten and should be avoided by anyone following a strict gluten-free diet.

Nonetheless, it contains a different gluten structure than modern wheat, meaning that some people with milder forms of gluten intolerance may be able to tolerate it in small quantities.

If you’re following a low gluten diet for medical reasons, consult your healthcare provider before adding farro to your routine.