Oysters are a popular seafood dish and delicacy in many parts of the world.

Many people enjoy eating them by breaking open their shells with a fork and allowing the oyster and its juices to slide out into their mouths.

Given the many variations of plant-based eating patterns, you may wonder whether oysters suit a vegan diet.

This article examines whether oysters are considered vegan.

Three oysters on ice with lemon.Share on Pinterest
Studio Create/Offset Images

Along with clams, scallops, and mussels, oysters are bivalve invertebrate mollusks that live in saltwater or brackish water habitats, which is where freshwater meets seawater.

They have a plump inner body with no bony skeleton, and they’re encased between two hard outer shells that hinge by a strong ligament.

Oysters fall into the invertebrate phylum Mollusca, which also includes snails, octopuses, and squids.

They’re known for filtering pollutants from the water and helping support the ecosystem. They also fuse, forming rock-like reefs near coasts that serve as habitats for other marine species (1, 2, 3).

A vegan diet is defined as a way of eating that excludes animal products and foods that contain animal-derived ingredients as much as possible.

One of the standard understandings of a vegan diet is that animals are sentient beings, meaning they can perceive their surroundings and feel sensations like pain (4, 5).

Some researchers suggest that mollusks are more likely to have some degree of sentience than previously thought (6).

Yet, many people hold the stance that invertebrate animals don’t feel pain and are therefore not sentient beings, although there’s not much evidence to confirm or dispute this claim (4).

Interestingly, cephalopods, a class of invertebrate mollusk that includes octopus, were previously presumed incapable of feeling pain. However, research has found them to be highly intelligent and sentient beings (7).

It’s therefore possible that oysters fall into the same category.

The debate around whether oysters and other similar types of aquatic life are vegan has been going on for some time.

There are strong opinions on both sides, and some people believe that whether oysters are vegan depends on your unique perception of them as beings (8, 9).

People who practice a vegan diet but still incorporate bivalve invertebrates like oysters, clams, and scallops are often referred to as ostrovegans.

Research around sentience for other invertebrate mollusks like cephalopods and the fact that relatives to oysters include snails and octopuses suggest that oysters shouldn’t be dismissed as nonsentient.

Overall, based on the definition of veganism above and the inability to confirm or dispute the possibility that oysters have some degree of sentience, oysters are not a vegan food.

If you’re waiting for research to decide oysters’ vegan status or follow a vegan eating pattern and the idea of eating oysters makes you uncomfortable, it’s best to exclude them from your diet.

Oysters are bivalve invertebrates that live in oceans and bays, and they’re part of the Molluscaphylum, along with snails, squids, octopus, clams, scallops, and mussels.

While there’s disagreement around whether oysters are sentient beings, meaning whether they can perceive their environment and pain, there’s not enough research yet to confirm or deny this characteristic. Still, relatives of oysters have been deemed highly intelligent.

As such, oysters are not a vegan food. Overall, if you’re awaiting confirmation from research or the idea of eating them makes you uncomfortable, it’s best to avoid oysters on a vegan diet.