If you’re hankering for the chocolatey, minty, or peanut-buttery goodness of Girl Scout Cookies, you’re not alone.

Yet, if you’re vegan, you may wonder whether they’re safe to eat.

These treats sold by Girl Scouts of America troops come in several varieties, the most popular of which include Thin Mints and Caramel deLites. As each type of cookie has a different recipe, some contain non-vegan ingredients like dairy or eggs — while others don’t.

This article explains which Girl Scout Cookies are vegan.

It’s important to note that Girl Scouts of America sources their cookies from different suppliers, so you’ll need to pay attention to the particular manufacturer if you want vegan cookies.

This information should be available when you order, as well as on the box. However, a vegan supplier may not be available in your location.

Here are the Girl Scout cookies that are currently vegan (1):

  • Lemonades: from ABC Bakers
  • Peanut Butter Patties: from ABC Bakers
  • Thanks-A-Lot: from ABC Bakers
  • Girl Scout S’mores: only the chocolate-coated variety, which comes from ABC Bakers
  • Thin Mints: all suppliers

Keep in mind that similar versions of the first four cookies on this list, which may use slightly different names, come from different bakeries and aren’t vegan.

Today, ABC Bakers is the only company that makes more than one vegan cookie for Girl Scouts of America — though Thin Mints are always vegan regardless of the manufacturer (1).

If you’re only concerned about particular ingredients, read the ingredient list before purchasing.


Vegan Girl Scout Cookies currently include Lemonades, Peanut Butter Patties, Thanks-A-Lot, Thin Mints, and Girl Scout S’mores (only the ABC Bakers variety). Other manufacturers may produce similar versions that aren’t vegan.

Several varieties of Girl Scout cookies aren’t vegan, as they contain animal products like milk and eggs.

Non-vegan cookies include (1):

  • Lemon-Ups: similar to Lemonades, which are vegan
  • Caramel deLites: also known as Samoas
  • Tagalongs: similar to Peanut Butter Patties, which are vegan
  • Do-si-dos: also known as Peanut Butter Sandwiches
  • Shortbread: also known as Trefoils
  • Caramel Chocolate Chip: contains both milk and eggs
  • Toffee-tastic: contains milk
  • Girl Scout S’Mores: only the variety from Little Brownie Bakers, which isn’t covered in chocolate

As you can see, a handful of these varieties have a vegan counterpart that’s produced by another manufacturer.

Furthermore, since some of the non-vegan ones resemble the vegan ones in terms of their names and flavors, be sure to look carefully before you buy.


Several Girl Scout cookies aren’t vegan, though they may have similar names as vegan varieties — so you should pay close attention to which ones you buy.

Whether a Girl Scout Cookie is vegan depends on its ingredient list, which is often tied to its specific manufacturer.

Lemonades, Peanut Butter Patties, Thanks-A-Lot, and chocolate-covered Girl Scout S’mores — all of which are made by ABC Bakers — are vegan. Thin Mints are always vegan regardless of the supplier.

Similar varieties of these cookies that look and taste mostly the same but have different names and manufacturers aren’t vegan.

Before you purchase, be sure to check if your local Girl Scout troop sources cookies from ABC Bakers. If so, you’ll have several varieties to choose from. If not, opt for Thin Mints.