Reiki is a Japanese form of energy healing therapy. It’s based on the notion that all humans have energy fields, or life forces, that keep us alive.

According to the practice, physical, mental, and emotional issues can occur if this energy is low or becomes blocked.

The purpose of Reiki is to promote good health by balancing these energy fields. It’s done by a Reiki practitioner, who places their hands on or just above your body to redirect energy. Research suggests it may help reduce pain and anxiety, improve your mood and sense of well-being, and help with depression.

Like other spiritual practices, Reiki is based on a set of principles. These core concepts are similar to affirmations or intentions. By focusing on the present moment, they offer guidance for connecting with your Reiki energy, which may help boost your sense of well-being in various ways.

Let’s get into what the Reiki principles are, and how you can use them to help create more positivity in your day-to-day life.

The philosophy of Reiki is rooted in five principles. These principles provide guidance for healing and balancing your Reiki energy. Let’s look at each one more closely.

1. Just for today, I release angry thoughts

It’s normal to feel angry sometimes. This emotion can be triggered by many scenarios, like dealing with a rude co-worker or getting cut off in traffic.

But according to Reiki, anger doesn’t come from these outside events. Instead, it stems from angry energy already within you.

This principle aims to help you release this energy. It encourages you to recognize anger and to let it go, allowing you to invite happiness into your life.

2. Just for today, I release thoughts of worry

Many of us worry about things that haven’t happened yet. And while it’s easy to feel like that worry comes from an external source, Reiki maintains that it starts from within.

If you’re holding on to worry energy, thinking about future events can produce negative emotions. However, if you’re able to release this energy, you may have an easier time living in the present moment and worrying less about the future.

3. Just for today, I’m grateful

This is a reminder to express gratitude for all that you have. By slowing down and recognizing the good in your life, it may help you foster more positive energy.

4. Just for today, I expand my consciousness

In Reiki, actively practicing mindfulness is key to balancing your energy. This principle encourages you to recognize how you’ve been more conscious about appreciating the present moment.

5. Just for today, I’m gentle with all beings

This principle focuses on how being kind to others lets you receive positive energy in return. It includes being gentle with yourself, which is essential for spiritual health.

You can use Reiki principles as mantras to help guide your thoughts and actions each day. According to Reiki practitioners, this is believed to promote spiritual and personal growth, helping you live a healthier, more fulfilling and balanced life.

Here’s how to use these principles as daily mantras or guidance.

1. Recognize and release angry feelings

The first principle, “I release angry thoughts,” focuses on improving your relationship with anger.

To incorporate this principle into your life, follow these steps:

  1. Say “Just for today, I release angry thoughts” aloud or to yourself.
  2. Think about when you felt angry today. If you just woke up, think about any anger you experienced yesterday.
  3. Think about past events that are like these events. Compare your emotions.
  4. Ask your higher self to help you release these angry thoughts and feelings.
  5. Take two deep breaths. Imagine letting go of angry energy every time you exhale.

2. Recognize and let go of worry

You can also embody the second principle, “I release thoughts of worry,” by mindfully releasing worried thoughts.

Here’s how:

  1. Say “Just for today, I release thoughts of worry” aloud or to yourself.
  2. Think about when you felt worried today. If you just woke up, think about the times you worried yesterday.
  3. Think about similar scenarios from your past. Look for similarities between your past and current emotions.
  4. Ask your higher self to help you let go of these worries.
  5. Take two deep breaths. Think of releasing worry energy with each exhale.

3. Practice gratitude

The third principle, “I’m grateful,” involves the act of being thankful.

To consciously express gratitude:

  1. Say “Just for today, I’m grateful” aloud or to yourself.
  2. Think about every positive person, object, and scenario in your life. Pause and express gratitude for each one.
  3. Allow your heart to feel full with each thought.

4. Recognize your own consciousness

The fourth principle, “I expand my consciousness,” involves acknowledging your own mindfulness. Mindfulness is about paying attention to the here and now, and living in the moment.

Start by saying the principle aloud or to yourself. Next, visualize when you have recently experienced greater consciousness, such as:

5. Practice kindness

The fifth principle involves recognizing when you’ve been unkind. This allows you to acknowledge how this makes you feel and then let go of those emotions.

  1. Say “Just for today, I’m gentle with all beings, including myself” aloud or to yourself.
  2. Think about when you’ve been unkind to yourself or others today.
  3. Recognize any guilt or anxiety related to these events. Ask your higher self to release that energy.
  4. Take two deep breaths. Think of releasing that negative energy on each exhale.

If you’d like to learn more about Reiki, check out the following resources:

You can also find books about Reiki at your local library or bookstore.

To actively incorporate Reiki principles into your life, consider these podcasts and apps:

The five Reiki principles are meant to promote natural healing of your Reiki energy. When practiced regularly, they may help create more balance and flow in your life, and boost your sense of well-being.

To learn more about Reiki principles, consider speaking to a trained Reiki practitioner. You can also find books, podcasts, and apps on the practice.