The uterus is a female reproductive organ located between the bladder and the rectum, in the pelvic area. The uterus has three layers: the inner lining (endometrium); the middle muscular layer (myometrium); and the outer layer (perimetrium). The uterus is connected to the fallopian tubes, the cervix and (via the cervix) the vagina. The main purpose of the uterus is to nourish a fetus prior to birth. In menstruating females, the ovaries release eggs which travel via the fallopian tubes to the uterus. If fertilised, the eggs will bind themselves to the wall of the uterus and the fetus will develop. The uterus is designed to nourish and protect the fetus until birth. The myometrium layer is designed to assist with labor in pushing the baby out of the uterus via the cervix and vagina. The serosa layer is designed to allow the uterus to move in the pelvic and abdominal areas as required, without damaging other organs or allowing the uterus to be damaged in turn.
Written and medically reviewed by the Healthline Editorial Team
Co-developed by:

In Depth: Uterus

Debugging Tools

Level: 4
Frame: 16
Toggle Hotspot
VP Data Tool
HexTable json from Steve
Steve's ajax layer update call:
[still on original layer]

Ad values:

adModel.dfpAdSite: hn.us.hl.bm.x.x.x
adParams['k1']: otherwomenshealth,uterus,8002199

More on BodyMaps

Take a Video Tour

Learn how to rotate, look inside and explore the human body. Take the tour

BodyMaps Feedback

How do you like BodyMaps? How can we improve it? Tell us what you think