Sphenoid sinus

There is an unpaired bone located at the base of the skull called the sphenoid bone. This bone is located in front of the temporal and occipital bones of the skull. There are seven bones that form the orbit (eye socket), and the sphenoid is one of these bones.

The shape of the sphenoid bone resembles a butterfly. There are two greater and lesser areas of the bone. These sections are called wings. Below the sphenoid bone, two parts of the bone stick out, called the pterygoid processes. Two other bones, the sphenoidal conchae, are located at the front and back sections of the body.

The pituitary gland, which produces many different hormones that control other glands, is housed in the sphenoid bone in the median section. It is also housed in the sella turcica.

In other animals, the sphenoid bones are often separate; however, in humans they are merged together.

Written and medically reviewed by the Healthline Editorial Team
Co-developed by:

In Depth: Sphenoid sinus

Debugging Tools

Level: 2
Frame: 14
Toggle Hotspot
VP Data Tool
HexTable json from Steve
Steve's ajax layer update call:
[still on original layer]

Ad values:

adModel.dfpAdSite: hn.us.hl.bm.x.x.x
adParams['k1']: sinusinfections,sphenoid_sinus,8002038

More on BodyMaps

Take a Video Tour

Learn how to rotate, look inside and explore the human body. Take the tour

BodyMaps Feedback

How do you like BodyMaps? How can we improve it? Tell us what you think