Sacral plexus

A network of intersecting nerves is referred to as a nerve plexus. Nerves that serve the same part of the body merge into one large nerve or group of nerves via a plexus. The sacral plexus provides motor and sensory nerves for the pelvis, buttocks, genitals, thighs, calves, and feet. It is one of the five major plexuses of the body. It rests on the piriformis muscle. Because the nerves of the sacral plexus impact a large part of the body, an illness or injury involving the sacral plexus is serious. The symptoms are weakness, loss of sensation, and/or pain in the lower parts of the body. Electromyography and magnetic resonance imaging may be used to confirm the diagnosis. Cancer patients receiving radiation therapy are at risk of damage to the sacral plexus, even if the radiation is directed at other parts of the body. High blood sugar can interfere with the proper functioning of the sacral plexus. Better management of blood sugar will restore the functioning of the sacral plexus. Ayurvedic medicine identifies the sacral plexus with the second charka.
Written and medically reviewed by the Healthline Editorial Team
Co-developed by:

In Depth: Sacral plexus

Debugging Tools

Level: 6
Frame: 1
Toggle Hotspot
VP Data Tool
HexTable json from Steve
Steve's ajax layer update call:
[still on original layer]

Ad values:

adParams['k1']: otherneurologicaldisorders,sacral_plexus_structure,8815797

More on BodyMaps

Take a Video Tour

Learn how to rotate, look inside and explore the human body. Take the tour

BodyMaps Feedback

How do you like BodyMaps? How can we improve it? Tell us what you think