Nasal Bone

Each human has two nasal bones located in the upper-middle area of the face, between the maxillary bones' frontal processes. These sit midline to each other to form the bridge of the nose. Nasal bones are normally small and oblong, but can differ in size and shape in different people. The function of each nasal bone is to bind together the cartilaginous tissues that form individual nose shapes. Each nasal has four bones with which it articulates: two cranium and two facial bones. The cranium bones are the ethmoid and frontal. The facial bones are the maxilla and opposite nasal. Each nasal bone has four borders: the superior, inferior, lateral, and medial. Each nasal bone has two surfaces: the outer and the inner. The outer surface of the nasal bone, which is covered by the compressor naris and the procerus, is convex from one side to the other and concavoconvex from the top to bottom. A foramen perforates its center, allowing a small vein through. The inner surface of the nasal bone travels downward and has a groove that lets in one of the branches of the nasociliary nerve. This surface is concave from one side to the other.
Written and medically reviewed by the Healthline Editorial Team
Co-developed by:

In Depth: Nasal Bone

Debugging Tools

Level: 3
Frame: 1
Toggle Hotspot
VP Data Tool
HexTable json from Steve
Steve's ajax layer update call:
[still on original layer]

Ad values:

adParams['k1']: othernosedisorders,nasal_bone,8001702

More on BodyMaps

Take a Video Tour

Learn how to rotate, look inside and explore the human body. Take the tour

BodyMaps Feedback

How do you like BodyMaps? How can we improve it? Tell us what you think