Lateral sacral arteries

The lateral sacral arteries belong to the arteries of the thorax. They are part of the anterior radicular, an agglomeration of several branches of multifarious vessels, together with the posterior intercostals, vertebral, and lumbar. The lateral sacral arteries are also among the arteries of the back. They have spinal branches, which function as suppliers to the sacral nerve rootlets, adjacent muscles, meninges, and sacrum. These arteries traverse the sacrum's lateral border. Normally, two lateral sacral arteries exist on each side of the internal iliac artery; these are the posterior and anterior arteries. The internal iliac artery is the major contributor of blood to the pelvic viscera. The lateral sacral arteries, along with the iliolumbar and the superior gluteal arteries, emerge from the posterior division. The lateral sacral arteries are also constituents of the major arteries serving the pelvis, the area where the trunk and lower limbs adjoin. They course through the pelvic sacral foramina and empty their contents to the vertebral canal.
Written and medically reviewed by the Healthline Editorial Team
Co-developed by:

In Depth: Lateral sacral arteries

Debugging Tools

Level: 5
Frame: 9
Toggle Hotspot
VP Data Tool
HexTable json from Steve
Steve's ajax layer update call:
[still on original layer]

Ad values:

adParams['k1']: othervasculardisease,structure_of_lateral_sacral_artery_(body_structure),8972035

More on BodyMaps

Take a Video Tour

Learn how to rotate, look inside and explore the human body. Take the tour

BodyMaps Feedback

How do you like BodyMaps? How can we improve it? Tell us what you think