Inguinal lymph nodes

There are two types of inguinal lymph nodes located below the inguinal ligament that runs from the ilium's anterior superior iliac spin to the pubic bone's pubic tubercle. They are the superficial inguinal lymph nodes and the deep inguinal lymph nodes. The superficial inguinal lymph nodes are located in the femoral triangle of scarpa that is formed laterally by the sartorius muscle's border, medially by the adductor longus muscle, and superiorly by the inguinal ligament. There are about 10 of them in total that form a chain underneath the ligament. These lymph nodes are located deep under Camper's fascia, one of the abdominal wall's thick layers, and drain into the deep inguinal lymph nodes. The deep inguinal lymph nodes are located below the cribriform fascia and on the medial side of the femoral vein. There are about three to five of these nodes. Cloquet's node is the name of the superior-most deep inguinal lymph node, which is located below the inguinal ligament. These nodes drain first to the body's external iliac lymph nodes, second to the pelvic lymph nodes, and finally to the paraaortic lymph nodes.
Written and medically reviewed by the Healthline Editorial Team
Co-developed by:

In Depth: Inguinal lymph nodes

Debugging Tools

Level: 6
Frame: 1
Toggle Hotspot
VP Data Tool
HexTable json from Steve
Steve's ajax layer update call:
[still on original layer]

Ad values:

adParams['k1']: otherimmunedisorders,inguinal_lymph_nodes,8432965

More on BodyMaps

Take a Video Tour

Learn how to rotate, look inside and explore the human body. Take the tour

BodyMaps Feedback

How do you like BodyMaps? How can we improve it? Tell us what you think