There are three bones located in the inner ear: the incus, the malleus and the stapes. Collectively, all three comprise the ossicles. Sound vibrates these bones, after it has traveled from the external ear, through the ear canal and beyond the tympanic membrane. The sound waves then vibrate the ossicles, and those vibrations travel into the cochlea, where sound is translated to nervous system signal to the brain. The incus lays at the center of the ossicles, connecting the malleus to the stapes. It is shaped like an anvil, which is why "the anvil" is a widely used alternative name for the bone. The bone has a few basic regions. The surface for the malleus articulates with malleus ossicle. The bone has two extensions known as the long and short crus. At the end of the long crus, the lenticular process curves into a hooked shape. The center of the incus is also known as the body. The incus has been a well known part of the ear for centuries. Alessandro Achillini first wrote of it in the 1500s.
Written and medically reviewed by the Healthline Editorial Team
Co-developed by:

In Depth: Incus

Debugging Tools

Level: 3
Frame: 16
Toggle Hotspot
VP Data Tool
HexTable json from Steve
Steve's ajax layer update call:
[still on original layer]

Ad values:

adParams['k1']: othereardisorders,incus,8002517

More on BodyMaps

Take a Video Tour

Learn how to rotate, look inside and explore the human body. Take the tour

BodyMaps Feedback

How do you like BodyMaps? How can we improve it? Tell us what you think