Sign up for our newsletter
Get health tips, wellness advice, and more

Thanks for signing up!
You've been added to our list and will hear from us soon.

See all Healthline's newsletters »

Descending aorta (Thoracic)

The aorta originates from the left ventricle of the heart. It ends in the abdomen where it branches into the two common iliac arteries. The aorta has five separate segments. The descending aorta begins at the arch of the aorta (where it loops over the heart to begin its descent). It is divided into two segments, the thoracic and the abdominal. The descending aorta (thoracic aorta) is between the arch of the aorta and the diaphragm muscle below the ribs. At the origination point, it is on the left side of the vertebrae. As it descends, it winds around the vertebrae and ends in front. The diameter of the artery is 2.32 centimeters. It has six paired branches: bronchial arteries, mediastinal arteries, esophageal arteries, pericardial arteries, superior phrenic artery, and intercostal arteries. There are nine pairs of the intercostal arteries. The right branches are longer than the left, because the descending aorta (thoracic aorta) is on the left side of the vertebrae. Through its various branches, it supplies blood to the esophagus, lungs, and the chest area, including the ribs and mammary glands.

Written and medically reviewed by the Healthline Editorial Team
Co-developed by:

In Depth: Descending aorta (Thoracic)

Debugging Tools

Level: 6
Frame: 10
Toggle Hotspot
VP Data Tool
HexTable json from Steve
Steve's ajax layer update call:
[still on original layer]

Ad values:

adParams['k1']: othervasculardisease,thoracic_aorta,8002485

More on BodyMaps

Take a Video Tour

Learn how to rotate, look inside and explore the human body. Take the tour

BodyMaps Feedback

How do you like BodyMaps? How can we improve it? Tell us what you think