Cervical lymph node group

The lymphatic system, made up of lymphoid tissues known as nodes and vessels, is part of the human immune system. It is involved in protecting the body against infection, by delivering immune cells known as lymphocytes to areas where the immune response has been triggered. There are several hundred lymph nodes throughout the body. Cervical lymph nodes are located in the neck. There are two general categories of cervical lymph nodes: anterior and posterior. Anterior superficial and deep nodes include submental and submaxillary (tonsillar) nodes located under the chin and jawline, respectively. The anterior cervical lymph nodes are further down the front of the neck, divided into prelaryngeal, thyroid, pretracheal, and paratracheal, based on their position near structures of the throat. Posterior lymph nodes are located along the back of the neck. Deep cervical lymph nodes are associated with their positions along the internal jugular vein. They are known as the lateral jugular, anterior jugular, and jugulodigastric lymph nodes. The inferior deep cervical lymph nodes, the juguloomohyoid, and the supraclavicular, or scalene, are considered deep jugular nodes.
Written and medically reviewed by the Healthline Editorial Team
Co-developed by:

In Depth: Cervical lymph node group

Debugging Tools

Level: 6
Frame: 3
Toggle Hotspot
VP Data Tool
HexTable json from Steve
Steve's ajax layer update call:
[still on original layer]

Ad values:

adModel.dfpAdSite: hn.us.hl.bm.x.x.x
adParams['k1']: otherimmunedisorders,cervical_lymph_node_group,8432963

More on BodyMaps

Take a Video Tour

Learn how to rotate, look inside and explore the human body. Take the tour

BodyMaps Feedback

How do you like BodyMaps? How can we improve it? Tell us what you think