Bones of foot

The 26 bones of foot consist of eight distinct types, including the tarsals, metatarsals, phalanges, cuneiforms, talus, navicular, and cuboid bones. The easiest foot bones to identify with the naked eye are the distal phalanges, as they are the bones that make up the ends of toes. The talus bone is located at your heel. The navicular bone is named for its resemblance to a boat, and is located in front of the talus, facing the toes. The cuboid and navicular bones make up the instep, and the metatarsals extend from this point to the toes. The bones of foot that comprise the toe are known as the phalanges, of which there are three sub-types. In order of their distance from the instep, they are the proximal, medial, and distal phalanges. It is at the joint of the distal and medial phalanges that bunions, protrusions of bone or tissue around a joint, occur most often. The feet are quite similar, on a skeletal level, to the hands, although the hand has one more bone than the foot.
Written and medically reviewed by the Healthline Editorial Team
Co-developed by:

In Depth: Bones of foot

Debugging Tools

Level: 4
Frame: 4
Toggle Hotspot
VP Data Tool
HexTable json from Steve
Steve's ajax layer update call:
[still on original layer]

Ad values:

adParams['k1']: otherfoothealth,foot_bones,8001976

More on BodyMaps

Take a Video Tour

Learn how to rotate, look inside and explore the human body. Take the tour

BodyMaps Feedback

How do you like BodyMaps? How can we improve it? Tell us what you think