WatchMojo.com goes through the grocery store to find some snacks that are gluten-free and delicious.
Read the full transcript »
Veronica: Going gluten-free doesn't mean you have to cut everything out of your diet. But it does mean you'll have to look closely at the ingredients. Hi! I am Veronica at watchmojo.com and today Health Expert, Annick Robinson shows us some tasty alternatives to your gluten filled snacks. Annick Robinson: Making in a transition to a gluten-free diet can be difficult to. Lot of my clients have a bit of a panic when they have to make the transition from a regular North-American diet to a gluten-free diet. They simply don't know what they're going to eat. And so if they're used to eating Breads, and Crackers, and Pastries, and Cereals, then there are some alternatives that are gluten-free and that are a better option. These are actually from my own pantry. Now these are not staples in my diet. These are occasional foods that enter my diet. But it's good to have as an option so that you're not compromised when you're feeding your family. So things like for example, Brown Rice Crackers. And if you look at the ingredient list, pretty much it's Rice, and a little bit of Salt, and a little bit of Oil. These are Chips, or Crackers that are made with Adzuki Beans. So they're actually not made from a grain or grass. They're made from Beans which means it's a protein source. And they taste just like a Chip. And these for example, they look like Rice Cakes, they are not Rice Cakes, they're made with Corn. So they're Corn Crackers. Popcorn, of course is a great staple. Air popped, make sure that you buy your kernels organic. The Brown Rice Pasta that I have here is actually more Al dente and people who try regular pasta and then switch over to Brown Rice Pasta, thank me because they think it tastes more delicious. And if you like doing Tortillas and Wraps and things like that, you can actually find Stone-Ground Corn Tortillas. But a lot of times they add in flour. So you have got to watch the ingredient list. I have this one here which is actually made from Teff, which is an ancient African grain, which is mostly grown and used in Ethiopia. And now it's available here. And if you're a Cereal addict, then there is Rice Puffs. It's basic rice puffed after you can make same with your milk; almond milk is a better choice. But if you're already having Puffed Rice Cereal in the morning, read the ingredients. If it's a regular commercial variety, there is Wheat found in that ingredient list. So be careful to read your ingredient list and you do not have to compromise to live gluten-free and live your best life.
Copyright © 2005 - 2015 Healthline Networks, Inc. All rights reserved for Healthline.