Thursday, April 24, 2014
Licensed from

Medical Specialist: Transplant Hepatology

Transplant hepatology is a subspecialty of gastroenterology, which is a subspecialty of Internal Medicine. After a doctor completes medical school and is licensed to practice medicine, the physician may pursue a rigorous, three-year training program in Internal Medicine. After passing an examination and completing the requirements, the doctor is Board Certified in Internal Medicine—also called an Internist. This is different from an intern, who is a doctor who has completed medical school and is in the first year of residency training.

To become certified in the subspecialty of Gastroenterology, Board Certified Internists must complete an additional three years of fellowship training in gastroenterology. Gastroenterologists specialize in treating diseases of the digestive system. Management of liver diseases and transplantation is complex. To advance excellence in patient care, the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) began offering further certification in Transplant Hepatology for candidates specially trained in liver diseases and transplantation in 2006. Transplant Hepatologists provide care to:

  • Perioperative-liver-transplant patients
  • Long-term-liver-transplant recipients


American Board of Internal Medicine 2004-2007.

Next Steps:
Find a Liver Transplant Surgeon
Enter your zip code
Written by: JC Jones MA, RN
Last Updated: February 20, 2008
Published By: Healthline Networks Inc.
Healthline Tools
3D Body Maps
Copyright © 2005 - 2014 Healthline Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.
Healthline is for informational purposes and should not be considered medical advice, diagnosis or treatment recommendations. more details