Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Licensed from

Medical Specialist: Thoracic Surgery

Thoracic surgery is one of 24 medical specialties recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) in which physicians can pursue additional training and education to become Board Certified. Thoracic surgeons treat injuries and diseases of the chest, heart, lungs, diaphragm, great vessels and esophagus. Upon completion of medical school, a doctor enters a thoracic surgery residency for two to three years. The thoracic surgeon is an expert in:

Associated Diseases


American Association for Thoracic Surgery 2008.

Written by: JC Jones MA, RN
Last Updated: February 20, 2008
Published By: Healthline Networks Inc.
3D Body Maps
Copyright © 2005 - 2014 Healthline Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.
Healthline is for informational purposes and should not be considered medical advice, diagnosis or treatment recommendations. more details