Friday, November 28, 2014
Licensed from

Medical Specialist: Surgical Critical Care

Surgical critical care is a subspecialty of Surgery. After completion of medical school, a doctor enters a surgical residency program for an additional five years of training to be eligible to take the qualifying and certifying examinations. However, if a candidate is interested in pursuing a fellowship in critical care, the surgeon may enter that program after completing three years of surgical residency training. Upon completion of the fellowship and submitting documentation of having managed 50 surgical-critical-care cases, the surgical-critical-care fellow may sit for the examination to become board certified. Surgical-critical care doctors manage the care of critically ill surgery patients:

Associated Diseases

  • Cardiothoracic surgery
  • Trauma
  • Shock
  • Burns
  • Acute lung injury


American Board of Surgery, Inc. 2008.

Written by: JC Jones MA, RN
Last Updated: February 20, 2008
Published By: Healthline Networks Inc.
3D Body Maps
Copyright © 2005 - 2014 Healthline Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.
Healthline is for informational purposes and should not be considered medical advice, diagnosis or treatment recommendations. more details