Friday, April 18, 2014
Licensed from

Medical Specialist: Pulmonologist

The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) recognizes 24 medical specialties in which physicians can pursue additional training and education to pursue board certification. One of these specialties is Internal Medicine, of which Pulmonology (lung disease specialist) is a subspecialty. Upon graduation from medical school, a doctor enters a three year Internal Medicine residency program. Pulmonologists complete an additional two years of training in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of lung and respiratory problems.

Pulmonologists are experts in treating:

Associated Diseases


American College of Physicians, 2008.

Next Steps:
Find a Pulmonologist
Enter your zip code
Written by: JC Jones MA, RN
Reviewed by: Paul Auerbach, MD
Last Updated: February 20, 2008
Published By: Healthline Networks Inc.
Healthline Tools
Find a  Pulmonologist
3D Body Maps
Copyright © 2005 - 2014 Healthline Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.
Healthline is for informational purposes and should not be considered medical advice, diagnosis or treatment recommendations. more details