Friday, April 18, 2014
Licensed from

Medical Specialist: Infectious Disease (ID)

After a doctor completes medical school and is licensed to practice medicine, the physician may pursue a rigorous 3 year training program in Internal Medicine. After passing an examination and completing the requirements, the doctor is eligible to become Board Certified in Internal Medicine, whereupon he or she becomes an Internist. This is different from an intern, who is a doctor who has completed medical school and is in the first year of postgraduate training.

Infectious disease specialists (ID) complete two to three additional years of training in diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases after completing internal medicine training. They specialize in the use of anti-infection drugs and their adverse effects. ID doctors are experts in infection control and sometimes in immunology.

Associated Diseases


American College of Physicians, 2008.

Next Steps:
Find a Infectious Disease Specialist
Enter your zip code
Written by: JC Jones MA, RN
Last Updated: February 20, 2008
Published By: Healthline Networks Inc.
Healthline Tools
3D Body Maps
Copyright © 2005 - 2014 Healthline Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.
Healthline is for informational purposes and should not be considered medical advice, diagnosis or treatment recommendations. more details